Why must local variables in async functions satisfy `Send`?

Disclaimer: I'm a rust noob so might be missing some obvious things here...

So the rule is that when Futures are ran on a multi-threaded runtime (like Tokio), they need to be Send so that one thread can take a task from another thread for scheduling, and this essentially prevents usage of types that are not Send across await points. Examples include Rc, RefCell etc...

I'm not understanding why must these types be Send. Variables with types like Rc wrapped in a Future (and it's associated state machine) should never be shared between threads because these Futures should not have two copies executing concurrently on different threads. So it seems to me that being able to hold a Rc across await points even tho they can be transferred as part of a Future to other threads is perfectly legitimate. Currently I will have to use Arc instead of Rc, which is fine but feels really weird because I'm really just accessing these Arc variables from a single thread at all times. This feels even more weird if I need a mutable field wrapped in an Arc and have to use Mutex/RwLock (from Tokio) instead of a RefCell.

(Perhaps the runtime is doing some smart optimizations that secretly shares things between threads underneath the hood, but I have not seen discussions of it anywhere...

1 Like

If your Rc state was allowed to be sent to another thread, but another handle to the same Rc allocation existed elsewhere in the original thread, then updates to the Rc counters would not be synchronized between those two threads.

6 Likes

Tokio can move an async task from one thread another while the task is suspended at an .await, so any local variable that lives across an .await must be able to survive being moved to a new thread.

4 Likes

Thanks a lot!

So only the Rc in the local scope but not other Rcs used in the current thread are encapsulated within the context of a Future/task (which are sent across threads)?