Why isn't lifetime updated when mutating references?

Why doesn’t the following program compile?

struct Foo;
fn main() {
    let a = Foo;
    let mut x: &Foo;
    let b = Foo;
    x = &b;
    x = &a;
}

The error message complains that b doesn’t live long enough, but clearly b is valid during the entire time when x refers to it. It seems that the borrow checker fails to update the lifetime of a reference when the reference refers to a new value.

I’m a beginner, but I think the problem is, that the variables gets dropped in reverse order.

x = &b;
// b gets dropped here, but it is borrowed by x
x = &a;

This fixes the problem:

struct Foo;
fn main() {
let a = Foo;
let b = Foo;

x = &b;
x = &a;

}

Bu I am really not sure, if my explanation is correct.

Thanks, but I disagree, because b 's lifetime should last until main() returns, and certainly after x=&a.

Well yes and no. How are they supposed to get dropped? The answer is in reverse order. So, if you have following code, the drop order is following:

fn main() {
let a = Foo
let b = Foo
drop b
drop a
}

This is a fix order what you can only change by changing the order of the declaration.
And if a has borrowed b, then b can’t be dropped. So b has to be declared before a.

But I have to admit: Your example makes it difficult to me to justify this implementation. I think the compiler should know, that x gets mutated with

x = &a;

and should wait with dropping b.

But as I understand it, a value is dropped when it goes out of scope. In my original example, b won’t go out of scope until the end of main(), so it is valid during the entire time while x refers to it.

I think, your code shouldn’t be a problem, if the drop order would be following:

struct Foo;
fn main() {
let a = Foo;
let b = Foo;

x = &b;
x = &a;

drop b;
drop x;
drop a;
}

But somehow it gets dropped here

x = &b;
drop b;

I don’t get it, why the compiler is so strict.

It is too complicated for real usage.