Why is type declaration necessary in constants?

Hello, Rust newbie and enthusiast here (I have some background in C/C++). Really happy to be exploring this beautiful language!

Anyway, on to the question. I was wondering why we are required to specify type and size when declaring constants? I mean, the compiler is smart enough to figure it out in let declarations; why can't it do so for const?

Many thanks in advance!

2 Likes

I can think of a couple reasons. For one, what would you expect the type of x to be here?

const x = 42;

Keep in mind that the compiler doesn't automatically coerce between numeric types like C/C++, so a function which takes an i32 isn't compatible with a u64.

Another thing to think about is that static and const variables are usually part of your API, and Rust prefers to keep things explicit so you just need to look at the definition of a static variable or a function (e.g. the fn foo(n: u32) -> u32 part) and that's all you need to know, something often called "local reasoning".

If you require explicit type signatures in anything which could become part of your library's API then we've found that to be a pretty good middle ground between explicitness/readability and convenience.

4 Likes

I apologize in advance if my arguments are going to sound naive, and I still haven't covered stuff like functions, etc.

I'd like to answer as follows; the same type I would expect from:
let x = 42;

I can agree with the local reasoning part, though. If public-facing APIs are not unambiguous, it can nothing but disaster.

So, can we conclude by saying that the Rust compiler can infer types of constants, but chooses not to, in the favor of local reasoning?

1 Like