Why is this Rust code slower than C#?

I'm a beginner, and to learn how to use Rust, I decided to try and convert some code in my project from C# to Rust, and see the performance benefits.
I have the following sample C# code:

class Person
{
    public string Occupation;
    public int Id;
}

class OccupationGroup
{
    public string Occupation;
    public List<Person> People;
}

class Program
{
    static List<OccupationGroup> GroupByOccupation(List<Person> people)
    {
        var occupations = new List<OccupationGroup>();
        var occupationMap = new Dictionary<string, OccupationGroup>();

foreach (Person person in people)
        {
            if (!occupationMap.TryGetValue(person.Occupation, out var occupation))
            {
                occupation = new OccupationGroup
                {
                    People = new List<Person>(),
                    Occupation = person.Occupation
                };

occupations.Add(occupation);
                occupationMap.Add(person.Occupation, occupation);
            }

occupation.People.Add(person);
        }

return occupations;
    }

static void Main(string[] args)
    {
        var people = new List<Person>();

people.Add(new Person() { Occupation = "1", Id = -9 });

for (int i = 0; i < 40_000_000; i++)
        {
            people.Add(new Person() { Occupation = i.ToString(), Id = i });
        }

var stopwatch = Stopwatch.StartNew();
        var result = GroupByOccupation(people);

Console.WriteLine("Time for C# implementation: {0}", stopwatch.Elapsed.TotalSeconds);
    }
}

When trying to convert to Rust, I ran into the problem of there being more than one owner of OccupationGroup - the occupations list and the values of occupationMap.