}
    //more bridge method

// implement virtual function
    fn translate<'a> (&self, original: &'a str)-> &'a str {
        //translate
        original
    }
}

But these code looks ugly because BaseMaterial and trait Say are coupling especially there are many fields need to access in trait. Is there a better way?

I am a newbie, in my opinon, 'BaseMaterial' and 'Say' should almost be one structure which like virtual class in C++. But I want to know how to implement this more gracefully in rust. Please help, thanks

If the RFC hasn't been touched in two years, that should tell you all you need to know.

A trait is not an interface. If you need access to a given field, you should consider using a getter method (which can be present in a trait). This is not only more idiomatic, but avoids needlessly exposing internal details.

1 Like

Thanks for reply.
I should have used getter method in the demo code, but the code looks ugly especially when there are many field need to access. please inspect my code and suggest a better method, thanks.

What do you mean by "far too ugly"? If you're concerned about the overhead of writing getters, you could almost certainly write a proc macro to do it for you.

Right now, you're trying to use a trait as an interface. Don't. You can define a trait that provided access to that field and have it be a supertrait to whatever you're trying to do. Beyond that and I'll need some actual code.

Basically, the code you've provided simply doesn't show the problem you're running into. With what you've shown, there is no reason a visibility modifier wouldn't suffice.

2 Likes

Thanks for reply.
I said that the code is ugly because when there are many BaseClass fields that need to be accessed in SomeTrait's method , BaseClass and SomeTrait are tightly coupled. In addition, all these access requirements need to be bridged by WorkClass.