Why does this simple program not compile?

Hello,

I'm quite new to Rust and I've got this very simple program that is not compiling but I can't seem to work out why:

fn main() {
    let mut var52: i32 = 919130359i32;
    let mut var51: &mut i32 = &mut var52;
    let var50: &mut &mut i32 = &mut var51;
    let var49: &&mut &mut i32 = &var50;
    {
        let mut var231: i32 = 1735471491i32;
        let mut var230: &mut i32 = &mut var231;
        let var229: &mut &mut i32 = &mut var230;
        let mut var228: &&mut &mut i32 = &var229;
        var228 = &var50;
    }
    println!("{:?}", var49);
}

The error it produces is:

error[E0597]: `var231` does not live long enough
  --> test.rs:8:36
   |
8  |         let mut var230: &mut i32 = &mut var231;
   |                                    ^^^^^^^^^^^ borrowed value does not live long enough
12 |     }
   |     - `var231` dropped here while still borrowed
13 |     println!("{:?}", var49);
   |                      ----- borrow later used here

Could anyone else explain what is going wrong? Thanks very much!

(PS I'm aware isn't a very useful program in practice, but this was generated from a Rust fuzzer I am working on which is meant to randomly produce valid Rust programs to test the Rust compiler GitHub - rustsmith/rustsmith: A randomized program fuzzer for the Rust programming language. Based on my knowledge this should have been valid Rust code but I'm just trying to work out why the compiler throws an error!)

Let var50 have the type &mut &'a mut i32, and let var229 have the type &mut &'b mut i32. When we assign &mut var51 to var50, we force 'a to live no longer than var52. When we assign &mut var230 to var229, we force 'b to live no longer than var231. Finally, when we assign &var50 to var228, we force 'a and 'b to be exactly the same, since lifetimes under &mut references are invariant (that is, the 'a in &var50 cannot be made any shorter).