Why does Rust declare function definitions in reverse?

This post is long for a simple question, but a large goal here is to demonstrate what I have personally felt is a significant pain point that didn't have to be.

I am a Rust beginner who was attracted to Rust by its language features. Most notably these:

Zero-Cost Abstraction
Memory Safety without a GC
Composition-based structure via Traits

I come primarily from a C# background (though I wrote c++ an age ago).

I recognize that the biggest need for Rust is found in embedded systems where people are tired of the long legacy of problems with C. That being said, I personally felt attracted to Rust because I would like to write more native code without having to go to a language that makes it easy to hang yourself. Even though I pride myself on clean code with minimal bugs and could get by in C++ myself, as a developer who manages other programmers, Rust is even more valuable to me because I can more safely count on junior programmers not writing memory-leaking crud.

The overall point being that Rust seems very attractive to someone from a Java or .NET world because we can say goodbye to the garbage collector, while gaining other benefits like the Trait-based architecture and (my favorite) zero-cost abstraction.

But I have a couple of hangups with the syntax and readability. And even though, I can look past them to see the genius of Rust, I believe the syntax is going to drag down development by developers who might otherwise get along in an easier-to-read language like C#.

My single biggest question is "why are the function definitions reversed?" and moreover, what's the point of the "fn" keyword? I can't see what's wrong with the C, C#, and Java way of doing things where the function leads with its return type (google agrees. Look at Dart).