Why does looping over Vectors work in a way that can change ownership of the vector?

So, I'm another Rust newbie. I've been reading the book off and on, playing with Rustlings a bit, and poking at it for a while now, but I have yet to really build anything.

My background is PHP and other web related development (plus some bash and sysadmin related scripting). Very little experience with compiled languages or non web apps. But I do have years of scripting language experience.

Today I'm experimenting with reading a file, parsing some text into a couple kinds of structs, then outputting a table of data. In the process I've run into the way vector ownership changes when you loop over it. Specifically the behavior described here: [SOLVED] Cannot return a value from a method after its been through a for loop? - #6 by L0uisc

From that post, experimenting, and some other results, I think that vectors get turned into an Iterator and then that Iterator is dropped at the end of the loop. Unless you loop over a reference to the vector.

So, this works (when referencing the vector):

let v = vec![1, 2, 3];
for i in &v {
    println!("{}",i);
    for i in &v {
        println!("{}",i);
    }
}

This doesn't work (when not referencing the vector):

let v = vec![1, 2, 3];
for i in v {
    println!("{}",i);
    for i in v {
        println!("{}",i);
    }
}

Error:

error[E0382]: use of moved value: `v`
   --> src/main.rs:5:18
    |
2   |     let v = vec![1, 2, 3];
    |         - move occurs because `v` has type `Vec<i32>`, which does not implement the `Copy` trait
3   |     for i in v {
    |              - `v` moved due to this implicit call to `.into_iter()`
4   |         println!("{}",i);
5   |         for i in v {
    |                  ^ value used here after move
    |
note: `into_iter` takes ownership of the receiver `self`, which moves `v`