Why does array declaration need a length if the initial value is given?

I'm a beginner with rust and trying to understand some of the logic behind the design. One question I have:

Why does an array declaration with type need a length? If no type is given the compiler infers it from the initial value, but if a type is given a length is required. That is,

let a0 = [1, 2, 3]]; compiles an array of isize
let a1:[u8;3] = [1, 2, 3]; compiles an array of u8 but the given size needs to match the array
let a3:[u8] = [1, 2, 3]; does not compile, it needs the length. But if the length in the declaration does not match the length of the initial value it is an error.
let a3:[u8;_]; does not work either.

I'm initializing a fairly long array of integers. If I add or remove values I need to adjust the size. It seems to me if the initial value is given and the values can be interpreted as the requested type that should be sufficient. Is there a reason I'm not seeing that this is not done?

You can use integer postfixes to specify type other than default integer i32:

let a1 = [1u8, 2, 3];

Is basically the same as

let a1: [u8; 3] = [1, 2, 3];

Thanks, that makes my code maintenance easier, but I'm still curious if there is a reason the compiler does not accept the third option

• Also, it doesn't seem to work for me:

**error: missing type for const item
--> src/main.rs:81:16
|
81 | const PIECEDATA = [12u16, 0x00f0, 1, 0x2222, 0, // data for BAR: length 5
| ^ help: provide a type for the constant: : [u16; 27]

That’s because [T] is a DST called “slice”, not an array. DSTs cannot be stored on the stack, only the heap. You can store a reference to a slice (usually called slice too):

let a2: &[u8] = &[1, 2, 3];
1 Like
let a3: [u8; _] = [1, 2, 3];

FWIW, this one arguably "should" work, it's just not currently implemented.

3 Likes

This is false; in your own example above, the DST being referred to by a2 is stack-allocated, it is not on the heap.