Why do functions like read_line need to use a mutable output variable?

Why do functions like read_line() need to use a mutable output variable? Why can’t it just return an immutable string? In other words why isn’t the signature something like…

fn read_line(&self) -> Result<String>

Can’t the user query the returned string for its length?

IMO this can be used to improve the ergonomics somewhat…

Here is the guessing game example from The Book.

fn main() {
    println!("Guess the number!");
    println!("Please input your guess.");

//Pseudo-rust. I am very new to this language.
    let guess = io::stdin().read_line();

match guess {
        Ok(str) => println!("You guessed: {}", str),
        Err(e) => fail(e)
    }
}

It allows one to reuse a String allocation. If the return type was Result<String>, then read_line would be forced to allocate a fresh String with the contents of the line on every call. If it is given an existing String, then it will actually allocate very rarely (assuming a reasonable distribution of line lengths).

I understand but what if the user wants to preserve the contents of the previously read strings? Returning a string from read_line() makes sense in this case.

Anyway I think this is just an optimization problem. Given a “sufficiently smart compiler” you can still get away with a single allocation when the user does not need to preserve the previous contents.

Look at C++'s Return Value Optimisation for an example of how the string can be copied into guess at zero cost and look at persistent data structures (PDS) for maintaining multiple immutable string allocations efficiently. In an ideal world using PDS you will only have as may strings allocated as you really need.

Then the caller must clone it. The point is that the caller gets to decide the allocation strategy, not the callee.

Rust has RVO. I don’t think that is relevant here.