Why Copy is need in 'array repeat expression'

I'm new to Rust. Please correct me if i'm wrong.

struct S{
    i :u32,
}
impl Clone for S{
    fn clone(&self) -> S{
        return S{
            i: self.i,
        }
    }
}
// impl Copy for S{}

let arr = [ S{i:1}; 10];

compile error message: the trait Copy is not implemented for S
My rustc version is 1.49.0

I know I need to impl Copy for S. But why Copy trait is need here?

in my opinion, let arr = [s; 10]; can translate someting like this

for(i=0; i<10; i++){
    arr[i] = s.clone();
}

So I think impl Clone trait is enough.

If Copy trait is required, only copyable element can use this syntax.

let arr = [ "hello rust".to_string(); 10];  // error: String need impl Copy trait

Any help is appreciated!

In expressions that create arrays it's [array repeat expression; how many elements are in the array]. The expression is used to initialize every element of the array.

The expression must be copyable, because one expression is going to be copied to all elements of the array.

However, String in Rust is uniquely owned. It can't be trivially copied. It can be only manually cloned, and the array literal syntax doesn't do cloning.

This is a usability problem with fixed-size arrays in Rust. They're generally hard to work with. A simple workaround may be to use Vec instead, which clones its initialization expression:

let vec = vec![String::from("hello"); 10];

For fixed-size arrays there is a silly workaround involving two quirks:

1. Empty String is a special case that can exist as a compile-time constant (other heap-allocated text can't, because there's no heap at compile time).
  2. Compile-time constants can be used to initialize arrays.
    const EMPTY_STRING: String = String::new();
    let arr = [EMPTY_STRING; 10];
1 Like

Thank you for your reply. I still dont understand this.

If I want to retain move semantics, how can I use this syntax?

struct Cloneable{
    i :u32,
}
impl Clone for Cloneable{