Why can't rust infer this function type? (`if` and `else` have incompatible types)

I'm still fairly new to rust and not very experienced with function types in it. I have some code that is using the minimax algorithm to evaluate game positions for a hobby project.

This simplified version of the code compiles:

pub fn minimax(maximize: bool) -> i32 {
    let (func, mut val): (fn(_, _) -> _, _) = if maximize {
        (std::cmp::max, i32::MIN)
    } else {
        (std::cmp::min, i32::MAX)
    };

for _ in 0..2 {
        val = func(val, minimax(!maximize));
    }
    val
}

Playground

However, if I remove the type annotation from the let line:

let (func, mut val) = if maximize {

the compiler outputs the following error:

error[E0308]: `if` and `else` have incompatible types
 --> src/lib.rs:6:9
  |
3 |       let (func, mut val) = if maximize {
  |  ___________________________-
4 | |         (std::cmp::max, i32::MIN)
  | |         ------------------------- expected because of this
5 | |     } else {
6 | |         (std::cmp::min, i32::MAX)
  | |         ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^ expected fn item, found a different fn item
7 | |     };
  | |_____- `if` and `else` have incompatible types
  |
  = note: expected type `(fn(_, _) -> _ {std::cmp::max::<_>}, _)`
            found tuple `(fn(_, _) -> _ {std::cmp::min::<_>}, _)`

It works as expected without explicit types if I split that block into two separate let statements:

let func = if maximize { std::cmp::max } else { std::cmp::min };
    let mut val = if maximize { i32::MIN } else { i32::MAX };

I have the following questions:

1. Is this behavior expected, or should the compiler to be able to infer the type of func? Is something else going on here? If this is a known issue, any links/references would be appreciated.