Why are some stackoverflow causes not caught by Rust?

I wrote this function not paying attention that it was recursively calling itself:

pub fn test_data_scenario() -> Cow<'static, str> {
   Cow::Owned(format!(
     r#"data () {{
         {}
       }}
     "#,
     test_data_scenario(),
   ))
 }

I'm returning test data like this as a Cow merely because it is a tad bit less typing in my unit tests since my parser expects &str (not String) as its argument.

Sure enough, I got an obscure runtime error:

thread 'parser::lex::lex_tests::lex_tests::data_tests' has overflowed its stack
fatal runtime error: stack overflow
error: test failed, to rerun pass '-p app --bin app'

Caused by:
process didn't exit successfully: /root/git/parserly/src-tauri/target/debug/deps/app-084e26cc241d286c 'parser::lex::lex_tests::lex_tests' --format=json -Z unstable-options --show-output (signal: 6, SIGABRT: process abort signal)

Process finished with exit code 101

It made me wonder: Couldn't the Rust compiler detect that I'm building an infinite &str on the stack and complain? Or am I just living proof that idiot-proof systems eventually just lead to there being a bigger idiot? :poop:

str is borrowed from a String, which is a newtype for Vec<u8> so it should be heap-allocated. I think the stack overflow is from the function calls.

To address the broader question, how would the compiler know how much stack memory will be available when the program is run? It could even be cross-compiled to run on a different target system. It might make for a short test but you probably aren’t providing an API with recursion and don’t need to test how it handles recursion (and this proves that you basically can’t test for that). It’s a runtime error that can be avoided by better coding practices: just don’t recurse, which I’m sure you know.

The compiler works with what it knows at compile time, not what it can assume about runtime. I would like to know if clippy will catch recursion, though…

2 Likes