Which Rust IDE offers most 'internal reprogrammability'?

1. I used Emacs for a few years before switching to IntelliJ because Kotlin/IntelliJ just beat Kotlin/Emacs.

2. When I started learning Rust, I stuck with Rust/IntelliJ.

3. I am now at the point where I regularly want to do certain 'auto refactorings' that the Rust/IntelliJ plugin does not provide. For example, things like:

match XYZ {
  ==> press some key combo, insert all options of the enum that XYZ evals to

blahblah.foo(
  ==> press some key, inserts the name/types of the function arguments

and other shortcuts that take advantage of Rust's type system.

To pull this off, I'd like a rust IDE that has lots of InternalReprogrammability

So far, I am looking at IntelliJ. However, I am a fan of neither the Grooby repl nor the Clojure repl.

I am also considering Visual Studio.

1. Question: For those using Rust + IDE, have any of you managed to have an IDE where you can easily define actions that extends your Rust editing/programming experience? If so, what IDE / scripting language combo are you using?

Thanks!

Note that you need two things from the editor here

• reprogrammability
  • understanding on the rust semantics

I'd say that IntelliJ is probably the best for the combination of two at the moment. There's no something akin to init.el, but you can write your own plugins easily, and you'll have access to semantic model of IntelliJ Rust (which has no backwards compatibility guarantees, of course).

Note that the first feature you ask for is already implemented:

This intention currently triggers only if the match is empty though, extending it to work when some of the cases are there would be very useful. If you are interested in improving this feature, do send a PR! The code for intention is here: https://github.com/intellij-rust/intellij-rust/blob/4e3c8bcb5983cc81ae549a281343c87822b5ffbd/src/main/kotlin/org/rust/ide/intentions/FillMatchArmsIntention.kt