Where to learn C headers for Rust sys wrapper making?

Hey all. I’m ready to start writing sys wrappers for C code but I’m not a C programmer. I wrote a tic-tac-toe program once in CPP another lifetime ago. There’s a good amount of howtos on the Rust side of things for wrapping C code, method calls, callbacks, and creating safe wrappers to handle memory freeing. What I haven’t found is how a Rust developer who’s not a C programmer can understand what he/she needs to know from reading a C header file.

Where’s the “What you need to know when reading C header files for Rust”?

You have #ifdef, #ifndef, #define, and then you have things like in libzip where things are conditional on ZIP_EXTERN and all the method definitions at the end of the file are predicated with it. See srouce. I can understand that #ifdef likely means if-defined and #ifndef is if-not-defined. But what should I be on the look for and what can I take from looking at a header to understand what to write for it in Rust. Am I right in guessing that ZIP_EXTERN is a macro here? Does that affect my task?

I’m not looking into using anything like bindgen to create the sys wrapper automatically for me. No. What I want is to learn and be a better programmer for it.

Thanks for any help!

Those are preprocessor directives. If you are manually writing bindings, these are your worst nightmare.

If you see them in a header file meant for public consumption, then they usually serve one of two purposes:

• They paper over differences in nonstandard extensions offered by different compilers.

• They paper over differences in the environment; operating system, pointer size, etc.

The first kind generally have little bearing on your bindings (you just need to learn how to identify them!), though they might occasionally complicate the linking stage.

Meanwhile, the second kind are why you absolutely need bindgen, so that the correct bindings for each individual user can be generated at compile time.