Where is collect() implemented?

Hey, I am just learning Rust using Exercism. Could you help me understand a detail?

If input is a &str, the one-liner

input.graphemes(true).rev().collect()

reverses it as a String.

There, graphemes() comes from unicode-segmentation and provides an iterator over extended grapheme clusters. Then, the docs say rev() "reverses an iterator's direction", though I have read the source code in rev.rs and what I see is that rev() returns a new iterator that wraps the previous one, right?

Alright. What I fail to see is where is collect() implemented. Where is the logic that says "I'll concatenate what the rev() iterator yields into a String"?

The graphemes iterator contains items of type &str, and .rev() preserves the item type.

The question is thus, how does an iterator of &str items collect into a String?

The .collect() method is just a fancy wrapper[1] around calling FromIterator::from_iter; the FromIterator implementations can be found either on that page, look here in particular - or as we want to produce a String from an iterator, the page of String, too, has the relevant impl FromIterator<…> for String listed.

As with most things in Rust documentation, if you want to see the implementation, just click on the “source” button, and it takes you there, in this case, the logic that says “I'll concatenate what the rev() iterator yields (or more generallly any iterator of &str items) into a String” looks as follows

impl<'a> FromIterator<&'a str> for String {
    fn from_iter<I: IntoIterator<Item = &'a str>>(iter: I) -> String {
        let mut buf = String::new();
        buf.extend(iter);
        buf
    }
}