Where/How/When Context Switching happen between tasks in thread/threads (std::thread)?

Hey everyone i have some knowledge missing about threads .
Lets create an environment: Single CPU, Single core. Using Single Process and Multi-threads in it.

I know in tokio context switch happens only when code meets on .await. But didint understand how/where/when this happens in std::thread.

There is classic example in rust doc but i dont find this example well.

use std::thread;
use std::time::Duration;

fn main() {
    let handle = thread::spawn(|| {
        for i in 1..10 {
            println!("hi number {} from the spawned thread!", i);
            thread::sleep(Duration::from_millis(1));
        }
    });

for i in 1..5 {
        println!("hi number {} from the main thread!", i);
        thread::sleep(Duration::from_millis(1));
    }

handle.join().unwrap();
}

The calls to thread::sleep force a thread to stop its execution for a short duration, allowing a different thread to run

Using little millisecond sleep to ensure move to another thread seems not healthy.

Q1 : Lets say there is cpu bound tasks in both thread (main and spawned one). How would switch happens between threads in this case ? Would one of threads block other one till its own cpu bound task done?

Q2: The second is an example that is often the case when having a UI. How do you prevent the whole UI from becoming unresponsive while performing other CPU intensive tasks?

You don't need to sleep to ensure that all threads get to run. The scheduler of the operating system makes sure that everyone gets their turn.

You don't do CPU-intensive tasks on the thread managing the UI.

2 Likes

So if there is cpu bound tasks for both threads, OS will schedule so that switching will be at anywhere in code and extremely fast between threads without blocking, right ?

1 Like

This example isn't there to ensure the ordering, it's just a demonstration of interleaving. In fact the book says: