Where do you keep your Rust projects on disk?

I'm working on a GUI application that analyzes Rust projects (Cargo.toml, etc.). I think it would be a nice touch if the application guessed where you have Rust projects on disk, and automatically showed you your latest few projects on startup, without the hassle of prompting for for them.

Searching all of $HOME for Cargo.toml is a bit too much (I bet people without SSDs would hate that), so I'm thinking about checking only a few typical directory names where Rust code could be expected.

So, where's your code?

~/src/projectname here.

3 Likes

I use the ~/dev/$PROJECT (Linux) and ~/development/$PROJECT (MacOS) formats respectively.

1 Like

~/checkout for all source managed code.

~/src or ~/source for non-source managed projects

Used to use ~/Development on Windows

1 Like

Because I am still learning Rust and I have no production code I save them in the atypical folder /Users/name/School/Rust.

/home/username/Workstation/rust-lang

All my rust projects are inside ~/pt/rust (I keep ~/src for downloaded external source code that's not being worked on, be it in Rust or something else)

Windows has much weaker conventions. Probably Documents (the relocatable known folder) is about as much of a convention that really exists.

I personally have been keeping all my code at D:\repos\.

2 Likes

I tend to have a Projects folder, where i follow the github pattern user/project eg:
~/Projects/[github user / organisation]/[project name] ...
becomes
~/Projects/daniel-samson/leap
~/Projects/hyperium/hyper
etc...

2 Likes

I always store my projects under ~/dev/project-name/ for both linux and macos.

1 Like

I keep my current code under C:\Projects since I'd be short on space otherwise, and then move it to D:\Rust.