When should structs use `&str` fields

Hello all. I'm pretty new to rust having come originally from C++ and Fortran and having mostly used Julia for the past 5 or 6 years.

I have a question about the use of strings in structs. It seems to me that, roughly speaking, structs should have reference fields are owned by something else. This is consistent with my intuition from C++. Something strange seems to happen with strings however. As far as I can tell, String is necessarily heap allocated and it is preferable to use &str for strings which will never be modified. The problem I run into is that, if I have a struct with &str fields, my struct does not own the underlying data, and I therefore have to guarantee that it lives long enough for my struct. It's easy to come up with lots of cases in which this works fine, but I have been finding that it's very dubious as a general practice, as I occasionally seem to land in situations where I can't guarantee the lifetime of the underlying data and there don't seem to be many good options. Having been burned by this a few times I'm finding myself only ever using String as struct fields. My understanding is that this is inefficient because of the resulting heap allocations.

Is there something else I should be doing here? I am tempted to store a [u8; n] in my struct and refer to it as a &str, but the design of rust really doesn't seem like it wants me to do that (the fact that I'd have to use u8 rather than str is one hint).

On a related note, I also find myself needing to use String (worse, copied Strings) in cases where I have returned a String and I can't tell rust that I want it to use the String in one part of the return value and a reference to that string in another part. Consider the following

struct A {
    name: String,
    x: f64,
}

struct B<'a> {
    h: HashMap<&'a str, A>,
}

impl<'a> B<'a> {
    fn from_vec(a: Vec<A>) {
        B {h: HashMap::from_iter(a.iter().map(|x| (&x.name, x)))}
    }
}