What's the idiomatic way to implement this relationship and functionality?

Greetings,

I am new to Rust and right now tinkering with it, wondering if I should use it for the software on an embedded device I am developing on my job.

Right now I am writing a test program that listens to get messages over MQTT(using rumqtt) and then call functions in a hashmap associated with the MQTT topics.

So far my code looks something like this:

struct myCom {
    pub receiver: Receiver<Notification>,
    callback_map: HashMap<String, fn()>,
}

impl myCom {
   pub fn listen(&self) {
        thread::spawn(move || loop {
                         for notification in &self.receiver {
                    match notification {
                        rumqtt::client::Notification::Publish(packet) => {
                            println!("{:?}", packet);
                            match self.callback_map.get(&packet.topic_name) {
                                Some(&func) => {
                                    func();
                                }
                                _ => println!("No callback associated with this topic"),
                            }
                        },
                        _ => println!("Nope"),
                    }
                }
        });
}

pub fn add_callback(&self, topic_name: String, callback: fn()) {
        &self.callback_map.insert(topic_name, callback);
    }
}

This works in the usecase where I call add_callback() before listen(). However, I would like to be able to add callbacks at a later stage as well, and the way I have implemented this gives me two different errors, depending on the changes I make:

If I have listen(&self), I get the error that "cannot infer an appropriate lifetime due to conflicting requirements" on the spawn thread line, which I guess is that the lifetime of the Receiver cannot be guaranteed for the lifetime of the "endless" listen function?