Whats everyones experiance with Rocket?

I'm a Ruby on Rails dev and I have been exploring alternative web frameworks in search of something lighter and safer. I tried Yesod but found it too hard to find help/docs for bits and the community was pretty sparse for finding answers.

Looking at Rocket, it seems quite promising. The getting started page docs seem very complete.

Who is using Rocket now? How have you found it?

2 Likes

Hey there! I used to work on Rails before coming to Rust. Welcome!

Rocket has great docs, and is generally regarded as a good framework. It uses code generation heavily, which should feel familiar to you from Rails :slight_smile: The downside is, it still requires nightly Rust at the moment; that won't be forever, but for now it's a thing. It's used in production by at least one company that I know of, so it's got that going for it as well!

Actix Web is an up-and-coming framework I've heard a lot of good things about, you may want to check it out.

In general, there's no Rails equivalent today; the Rust ecosystem seems to favor either Sinatra-like libraries, or something a bit bigger, but still much smaller than Rails.

6 Likes

Using nightly is my biggest Rust "paper cut". It seems to be broken very often and Rocket (or one of its dependency) force you to update your nightly so you hit those broken nightlies more often.

1 Like

I think this could be documented more prominently: If you have a file called rust-toolchain in the root of your project, then rustup will install the specified toolchain automatically the next time you invoke cargo (rustup docs). For example, right now I have a project using rocket where the contents of rust-toolchain is nightly-2018-05-13. I use this mechanism at work to make life easier for both my coworkers and the CI machine.

To answer the original question - I've only used Rocket for small projects, but I've enjoyed it a lot. I can get something up an running really quickly.

10 Likes