What's everyone working on this week (51/2018)?

New (belated) week, new Rust! What are you folks up to?

2 Likes

I've been working on support for CUDA Arrays in RustaCUDA:
https://github.com/bheisler/RustaCUDA/pull/22

This will eventually include binding to CUDA Texture and Surface References and Objects.

Noob here. I'm making broot on evenings: GitHub - Canop/broot: A new way to see and navigate directory trees : https://dystroy.org/broot

The main initial goal was to learn Rust (trying to decide whether I switch my team to it or not) but it turns out to be a pretty usable tool in my opinion.

Feedback very welcome, including regarding code that would not be idiomatic or as efficient as possible :wink:

2 Likes

Last week I finished up FAT volume support in my cargo submmand for building Nintendo 64 ROMs. It’s available (along with a simple crt0 replacement) in the links below.

This week I am working on a few small examples that will eventually be used as the introduction for a book on writing Nintendo 64 games with Rust. First a minimal example that configures the video hardware interface and draws some static colored rectangles. Then a basic hello world (more work because it requires building a font and simple layout code). And finally, loading textures and sounds from the embedded file system!

3 Likes

So, this week I hope to finally get to the paint bucket tool for FlowBetween, finally. The idea is to use the ray-casting algorithms in flo_curves to trace the outline of the area the user clicks in as a series of points and then use the LMS fitting algorithm to generate the paths. It's probably going to need some sort of spacial data structure to run fast enough.