What's everyone working on this week (17/2019)?

New week, new Rust! What are you folks up to?

Currently working on restor, trying to generalize, and remove unnecessary lifetimes, and overall improve usability. Also added concurrent versions of the storage to allow multithreaded allocation and borrowing using Mutexes and RwLocks. Currently, I'm fighting with the fact that GATs don't exist yet, so there's some more lifetime juggling that needs to be done. Earlier, I ended up with a quite puzzling error:

let x = DynamicStorage::new();
x.get::<usize>(); //This returns a temporary
//Error cannot drop `x` because it may still outlive the 
//temporary in the previous line.

I released new versions for a bunch of crates last week (and published a completely new one). This week, I'm preparing to leave for Berlin on Thursday. Looking forward to Oxidize!

2 Likes

I am a compsci eng student writing a paper on Rust and how it will save us all from bufferoverflow and other memory issues. So I am reading frantically trough the rust book while I make little snippets of code I can go back to.

The paper will go in depth on memory, concurrency and safety. My idea so far is to write a simple hash cat clone that spawns multiple threads for comparsion and hashing of wordlists.

3 Likes

I will be very interested to read that paper!

I will link it, however this time around it will be in Norwegian. Hopefully it translates ok trough google.

I am Afrikaans-speaking, so I might just understand with the help of Google Translate and my knowledge of Germanic languages :wink: Thanks!

I've been working on my own regex library and lexer generator as part of a greater ambition to learn more about PLT and compiler implementation.

A good chunk of the lexer generator is done. Probably about half, but it's slow going because I can only allocate so much time to it. It's been a great way to strengthen my general Rust skills: generics, macros, general structuring of modules.