What should I build with Rust?

Hi everyone,

Ever since I started programming I've been using interpreted languages. I started with Python, got my first job in PHP and now mostly coding in Ruby. I've never done any systems programming, and have done tiny amounts of C.

Then I found out about Rust, which suddenly made lower level languages seem much more accessible to me. The principles behind the language and syntax decisions really appeal to me. However, it's pretty much impossible to learn a language without a project of some sort, and for me I like to have a project that will have some practical use either for me or the community. I also find it difficult to come up with a problem where Rust is a good solution.

Does anyone have any good suggestions for a first project?

Another thought I had was to try my hand at creating a Rust library, but being new to the community have absolutely no idea what the community wants or needs. I'm not expecting that my first attempt will be good or releasable, but having a purpose will help to focus my efforts.

Any ideas are welcome! Also, any suggestions around the best way to learn Rust other than walking through the docs and [rustbyexample.com][1] are equally welcome.

Thanks everyone!
[1]: http://rustbyexample.com

4 Likes

I have found the Rust in Detail: Writing Scalable Chat Service from Scratch articles really good. Also, I found The Book to be better read in the order of sections 1, 2, 5, 3, 4.

1 Like

I think the question is "What do you want to make the computer do?".

I got into programming because I wanted to make the computer do something. Back when I started programming that was basically making electronic Madlibs with Basic on a Vic 20. Then a teacher introduced me to fractals which I still find fascinating.