What is the intent for ops::Add<Rhs=Self> type constraint?

Hi, I'm a newbie!

I was wondering why this Playground*edited link code didn't compile, so I wrote an SE post and now I want to know why "the book" the std::ops documentation on operator overloading implement add for type Point with moves instead of immutable borrows for the arguments.

Why does the guide suggest we implement add for Point with argument self and Point like below instead of with &self and &Point? What is the benefit of one over the other? I suppose there's also the Add<Rhs=&Point> for Point but one thing at a time unless that really explains the reasoning this move implementation is in the book suggested by the docs.

use std::ops::Add;

struct Point {
    x: i32,
    y: i32,
}

impl Add for Point {
    type Output = Point;

fn add(self, other: Point) -> Point {
        Point {
            x: self.x + other.x,
            y: self.y + other.y,
        }
    }
}

It does compile. Did you mean this, from the SE post? In short, because it doesn't match the trait. The method takes self, Rhs for Add<Rhs>, and not &self, &Rhs.

I'm not sure what part of The Book you're referring to, but The Book documents the language and standard library, it doesn't dictate them. It's probably just documenting how the trait is designed.

As for why trait is designed like that in the first place, it's for heavier types, such as those that allocate -- for example String. [1] Due to the by-value design, you can reuse the allocation of the left operand.

You can also implement Add for &Ty. But another consideration is that + doesn't auto-ref, so for Copy types, you would also lose ergonomics by having to explicitly reference if only Add for &Ty is implemented.

1. Or, say, some big integer type. ↩ī¸Ž

2 Likes

Thanks for pointing out the issue with the playground link, I also realized I was looking at other parts of the docs so I did my best to indicate within the "no more than 2 links" rule because I'm new.