What is the good rustian way to design the algorithm and the data types for this simulation?

After falling in love with rust, i decided to rewrite an old particle simulation, originally written in Julia, in Rust.
However, I'm still learning the language and don't have much experience how to organise a Rust program to optimise for performance.

Basically, the simulations that I want to write consist of two structs

pub struct Particle {
    pub id: i32,
    pub position: i32
    pub particle_buffer_one: HashMap<i32, f32>
    pub particle_buffer_two: HashMap<i32, f32>
    // Plus several fields that are collections, e.g vector, hashmap
    // that will act as buffers to save different types of data
    // belonging to individual instance of this class
}

pub struct World {
    pub id: i32,
    pub particles_n: i32,
    pub linear_size: i32,
    pub set_particles: HashMap<i32, Particle>
    pub world_buffer_one: HashMap<i32, f32>
    pub world_buffer_two: HashMap<i32, f32>
    // Plus several fields that are collections
    // that will act as buffers
}

And in the main(), I first create an instance of World that consist of N number of Particle instances (see set_particle field of the class World). Then, the body of the main contains a loop in the following format

let s_world = World::new(N)
    for i in 0..1e+12 {
    // choose one of instance of `Particle` from `set_particle` of `s_world`
    // change the value of `particle_buffer_one` at key `i`
    // change the value of `particle_buffer_two` at key `i`

// change the value of `world_buffer_one` at key `i`
    // change the value of `world_buffer_two` at key `i`
    }

I'm a fan of immutable objects in general, simply because it is safer/simpler to deal with. However, given that I need to get the best performance from this code in terms of speed, here are some design questions that I don't know how to answer:

1. For the buffers, should I use hashmaps. Are these the fastest?