What is a Rust equivalent to Swift's parallel thread-setting?

I apologise if I ask an already-answered question. I looked through similar questions on the Forum, but couldn’t recognise any that really match my question; I’m still very new to Rust.

Working in Swift, I created a program which iterated over sections of an array in parallel. These sections are set by markers from a different array; the sections are different sizes. I create a DispatchQueue.concurrentPerform, which lets me set the number of iterators/threads, and run loops on each section chosen by the thread number.

In Swift, the code looks like this:

// variables:    
// array: a large, mutable array of u32 numbers
// threads: the number of threads/iterations
// sections: an array of integers marking the start/stop indexes of each section, as set by ‘threads’.

DispatchQueue.concurrentPerform(iterations: threads) { k in    // k is each thread number
        let min = sections[k]
        let max = sections[k + 1]

for i in min..<max {
              // perform operations on array[i]
        }
    }

This works well in Swift, but I’m trying to work out what the equivalent code in Rust would be. I know that Rayon can let me set the number of threads vis ThreadPoolBuilder, but I’m not yet clear as to how to set particular sections to each thread.

Why do you need to manually set the number of threads and partition the array for concurrent execution? Rayon chooses by default the number of threads by looking at the available cores and automatically splits up the work between threads evenly. All you have to do is use .into_par_iter().for_each(…) or .par_bridge().for_each(…) depending on what you iterate over.

1 Like

The algorithm in question is a two-pass shuffle for large datasets, as described here. The basic process is:

• Randomly move array elements into N piles or sections (which aren't likely to be the same size);