Weirdness of '&' and '*' (for an old c programmer)

Beforehand: To me, Rust is currently the most fascinating programming language i know about, solving several key problems i have been fighting against for 3 decades as ‘real world prgrammer’ in astonishingly innovative ways.

But… : one thing that is quite opaque to an old C(xx) programmer is the sematics of the symbol &, especiailly :

• when is it needed,
  • when is it optional,
  • when has it no effect at all
  • when has it surprising effects

here is an example:

use std::num;

struct Vector {
    x: f64,
    y: f64,
}

fn length(p: &Vector) -> f64 {
    (p.x * p.x + p.y * p.y).sqrt()
}

impl Vector {
    fn length(&self) -> f64 {
        length(self)
    }
}

fn doit() {
    let p = Vector { x: 3., y: 4. };

let l = length(&p); // & required, omitting yields compiler error

let l = p.length(); // & NOT required
    let l = &p.length(); // but allowed
}

When calling the funtion length, the & is required, otherwise the compiler will refuse the code.

When calling the method length, the & is completely optional. One may even write an arbitry number of & characters, it doesn’t harm. (or * charcaters, for derefenecing)

Another somewhat related feature, that is really surprising to me: when you pass a reference to some object to a pattern matching construct, which contains variable bindings, than all these bindings are ‘magically’ converted to references. I desparately searched for an explanation of this behaviour in ‘The Book (Version 2)’, and finally found this little paragraph at the end of chapter 18

Anyway, today’s Rust doesn’t work like this. If you try to match on something borrowed, then all of the bindings you create will attempt to borrow as well.

I ask myself: What does ‘attempt’ mean in this context? Whar happens, if ‘attempting’ fails ?