Weird symlink created by cargo

I'm a complete beginner with Rust. In fact, I just installed it about 15 minutes ago from the rust-lang.org main site, and I'm working my way through the book. I'm running on Windows 10, build 1903. I have cargo 1.37.0 (9edd08916 2019-08-02). I have git version 2.23.0.windows.1.

When I run cargo new hello_cargo, it creates a "hello_cargo" folder with files as described in the book, as well as a git repository as described by the manual. What I'm finding unexpected though, is that there is an extra directory named "_git2_a22412". It looks like it is symlink directory based on the attributes shown by PowerShell, CMD, as well as the Windows Explorer. Unfortunately, trying to follow the link gives me an error message like:

ls : Could not find a part of the path 'C:\z\rust_projects\hello_cargo\_git2_a22412'.
    At line:1 char:1
    + ls
    + ~~
        + CategoryInfo          : ReadError: (C:\z\rust_proje...go\_git2_a22412:String) [Get-ChildItem], DirectoryNotFound
       Exception
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : DirIOError,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.GetChildItemCommand

Trying to delete the directory fails with:

Remove-Item : There is a mismatch between the tag specified in the request and the tag present in the reparse point
    At line:1 char:1
    + Remove-Item .\_git2_a22412\ -Force -Recurse
    + ~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
        + CategoryInfo          : NotSpecified: (:) [Remove-Item], Win32Exception
        + FullyQualifiedErrorId : System.ComponentModel.Win32Exception,Microsoft.PowerShell.Commands.RemoveItemCommand

I've tried blowing away the "hello_cargo" directory and trying again in CMD instead of PowerShell and I got the same results (with a different random suffix after "_git2").

I would appreciate any recommendations on how to fix this issue.