WebSockets-powered robot with a Raspberry Pi and an Arduino

Hey all; I'm fairly new to Rust (seven months give or take; JavaScript is my daily driver) and I've been working on a custom-built, 3D-printed robot car https://github.com/botinaboxer/codercar for the better part of the last year and a half.

Introduction

I've tried a lot of different avenues - NODE-RED, Python with MQTT and PiGPIO, Johnny-Five.js and Cylon.js, and a couple of others. Honestly I've had a blast learning how to interface with hardware using high-level languages, but, well...

It got to the point where (either for my lack of pre-planning, premature excitement, or whatever) I just couldn't take it - I needed a better way of coding everything up.

And so I turned to Rust, after a bit of soul searching and a lot of helpful advice. It's great, really. I love the ecosystem (Cargo, Rustup, rustc, crates - the whole shebang). And I'm finally getting somewhere with it.

Using the RPPAL library from golemparts, I was able to control the GPIO pins on my Raspberry Pi Zero W using Rust. That allowed me to use the attached L9110s motor controllers to get my CodeRcar moving. But I needed a front-end, since I didn't want to be using a CLI program for this, and I am more versed in front-end web development than in CLI/TUI interface development.

So I created codercar-controller, a Vue front-end application (built in Nuxt) with USB controller support. It is not finished, and I'm currently re-writing it using Quasar, but that's a discussion for another place.

Basically, it communicates with the Raspberry Pi Zero W via WebSockets, and I made codercar-rust as the back-end running on the Pi.

It uses tokio-tungstenite at the moment for managing the websockets, and serde to serialize and parse the JSON object representing the current status of a game controller plugged into the computer running the front-end (which incidentally, could be the Pi itself, but let's say I'm using my laptop).

And now to the present