Website developed in Rust

I am from .Net stack, I want to learn Rust for web development.

Want to know who using Rust in web development and their experience.

And which is the best combination for Rust based application development?

Like Database, Frontend, Web server etc.

1 Like

Here is an old question asking the same:

For the second part I can't give you an answer, since I've only used a web server once, without database and frontend framework.
I tired Rocket, Actix and Gotham. The first one seemed to me the easiest framework, but it requires Rust nightly, the last one has been used since I considered it simpler than Actix (and I had only need for a single-threaded webserver, so I've not cared about if it is async/await or multithreaded and fast)

Maybe @kornel has more experiences to share with you.

1 Like

I'm new to Rust almost one year ago. I soon had a Rust website running in production using Rocket together with the CockroachDB distributed SQL database and the NATS messaging system. This has all been running flawlessly since.

Rocket was selected for this project mostly because I did not know of many other ways to do it. Rocket's documentation is good and something I could understand pretty quickly. The thing that convinced me to go Rocket (and indeed Rust itself) for this project was this brilliant presentation by Rockets creator Sergio Benitez: " RustConf 2017 - Building Rocket": RustConf 2017 - Building Rocket by Sergio Benitez - YouTube

I heard of Actix a bit later. All that async stuff put me off. I love it in node.js, I can't fathom it in Rust. At the time the project looked like it was going to disappear when the developer threatened to delete the repo after spat with some users. Not very confidence inspiring.