Webassembly: Why so closely tide to Node?

Friends

I have been learning Rust in my spare time for a couple of years, and recently have been exploring webassembly to tie in Rust with PWAs, another technology I have been recently exploring.

tl;dr Rust is a carefully designed marvel of modern technology that builds on the lessons of the past. Node.js is not and does not. Why tie Webassembly so closely to Node.js?

I recently walked through the tutorial for which I installed the Node.js mess into a VM for that purpose. The resulting www/ heirachy had more than 7,000 files in it, all in my document root. The system was periodically polling my server for some unknown reason. I really do not trust it. AFAICT there is no straightforward path to serving with my favorite webserver. The turtorial leaves me high and dry in Node hell.

I have found this documentation and this code which looks like it will meet my needs. Thank you (again) to Rusticans beating a path for me, I really appreciate it.

I am interested in why the choice was made.

2 Likes

I think it's simply because many people involved in WASM have come from the Node.js land.

Node is much much more popular than Rust, so for most people coming to WASM it's likely easier to use a Node server than to also learn how to build a Rust server.

3 Likes

At this stage in WebAssembly's life, many folks believe that wasm will mostly be used to augment existing JavaScript applications, in the same way that say, a C extension would be used to augment a Ruby app. It is also significantly easier to adopt something in an incremental way.

Therefore, smoothing out these integrations and showing folks how to use them is more likely to increase adoption.

3 Likes

Silly me.

And much much worse. But I get your point.