Way to implement Generic Vector norm

Hello Rustaceans,

I'm still learning Generics through my Vector2D . To be honest, I didn't expect it to be that hard, but, the exploration is quite interesting to learn. I looked at the forum, and read some kind of similar topics.
I have implemented Add/Sub/Mul/Div operator, Defaut, PartialEq traits and now I'm trying to implement the norm() / length() operation. The difficulty here is that sqrt() only exist on f32 and f64 types. By looking at several libraries, I noticed that many of them provide the squared norm instead of the norm to avoid the problem with sqrt() on float types. This make me think that this is not a trivial problem :roll_eyes:

Here is a pseudo code (doesn't compile) to express my idea:

impl<T: Copy + std::ops::Mul<Output=T> + std::ops::Add<Output=T>> Vector2D<T> {
    // Compute euclidian norm (length) of self vector.
    fn norm(self: &Self) -> T {
        let tmp: T = (self.x * self.x) + (self.y * self.y);
        let tmp: f64 = tmp as f64;   // Here I need a magical cast to f64
        let tmp = tmp.sqrt();
        tmp as T    // Here I need a magical cast from f64 to T
    }
}

Rust compiler clearly indicates that 'as' can only be used for primitive types. I could not find solution for this.

Now, I'm thinking about creating a Sqrt trait with a method computing sqrt and adding this trait to the bound and then provide implementation of this trait for various primitive types.

impl<T: Copy + std::ops::Mul<Output=T> + std::ops::Add<Output=T> + SQRT> Vector2D<T> {
    // Compute euclidian norm (length) of self vector.
    fn norm(self: &Self) -> T ...

As you probably realize, I'm not confident with the feasibility of this. Being a beginner, I also have no idea about macros, and the possibilities they offer.