Warnings: Lack of parenthesis in conditional if statement when mixing AND and OR?

Hi!

I'm relatively new to Rust (but not to programming). I was writing the following code (simplified):

let a = true;
    let b = true;
    let c = false;

if a && b || c {
        println!("Hello");
    }

And, coming from C++, I noticed Rust didn't issue any warning. And I was like "Wait, what???".

(a && b) || c is not the same as a && (b || c) . Most C++ compilers nowadays will warn when encountering this dangerously confusing construct without paranthesis.

Am I missing something? Should I be using a different syntax? Is this in rustc's todo list?

Cheers

3 Likes

It is a well-known convention in mathematics that conjunction has higher precedence than disjunction. There is no need for a warning here, unless you also believe that a * b + c should generate a diagnostic, too.

19 Likes

Well, I did four years of university level mathematics, and when I looked at the code above, I couldn't immediately remember which way to parse it. In hindsight, I just compulsively parenthesise expressions like this for exactly that reason.

rustc is known for its excellent diagnostics, many of which exist because of an acceptance that programmers are (at least for the moment) human, and humans are fallible. Likewise, C++ compilers are notorious for responding to even minor mistakes with fire and brimstone and hanging your terminal while it tries to output seven thousand pages of template errors.

It the mistake is common enough for C++ compilers to be showing some compassion, maybe rustc should consider it, too.

(Also, arithmetic precedence is taught in primary school, logical precedence is first year university. They are not really that comparable.)

14 Likes

Clippy has a clippy::precedence lint that covers some similar cases, and there are some open issues about extending it to additional cases. I didn’t find any issue covering this use case, so it is probably worth filing one.

13 Likes