Wanted: a bit of mentoring for my first crate

Hi folks. While making some changes to the tokenizer for lisp-rs, I started looking around to see what crates.io had to offer in the way of support for writing tokenizers. Tokenator was kind of in the ballpark, but long story short, I decided to write my own. I think it's pretty much ready to publish as a crate, but I've never done that before and I'm sure I could benefit from having some experienced eyes look it over.

Please take a look at the doc comments in lib.rs to get a feel for what it helps you do:

While random comments in this thread might be helpful, what I'm really hoping for is someone who has published crates to do a bit of mentoring, probably totaling an hour or two in the form of an email thread over the course of a few days. I'm not new to Rust, so I don't think I need much if any help with the language itself, but I have questions about API design, Github actions, documentation (including the Readme), and so on.

Another thing that would really help is a pointer to a relatively simple, straightforward crate (or two) that follows all the best practices for Github actions, documentation, etc.

Thanks for any help.

I should add that I have several other projects in progress, and am hoping to get set up with best practices up front so that I can more easily repeat the process of turning them into published crates.

I am in roughly the same boat as you, and if it's not too presumptuous/greedy, I'd appreciate it if you could post a writeup of whatever you learn once you've learned it.

I'm going to list a few resources folks interested in this topic might find useful:

The Rust Book has a chapter on publishing a crate:
https://doc.rust-lang.org/book/ch14-02-publishing-to-crates-io.html

And the Cargo Book has its own chapter on the same topic:
https://doc.rust-lang.org/cargo/reference/publishing.html

And here is an apparently official document on Rust API Guidelines: