Variable (String/Vector/Map/etc...) created in a loop will keep de+allocating memory?

Hi (I'm new to Rust)

I'm wondering if, from the point of view of memory de/allocation, it's better to create a Vector/Map/String/etc... outside a loop (and then calling ".clear()" inside the loop), than to directly create it inside the loop?

Example 1 - vector created inside the loop:

fn main()
{
	let mut loop_counter:u8 = 0;
	while loop_counter < 3
	{
		let mut myvec:Vec<u8> = Vec::new(); //HERE I CREATE MY VECTOR!
		//Start-Do something with "myvec"
		for _ in 0..3
		{
			myvec.push(0);
		}
		//End-Doing something with "myvec"

loop_counter += 1;
	}
}

Example 2 - vector created outside the loop:

fn main()
{
	let mut myvec:Vec<u8> = Vec::new(); //HERE I CREATE MY VECTOR!
	let mut loop_counter:u8 = 0;
	while loop_counter < 3
	{
		myvec.clear(); //HERE I CLEAR ALL THE CONTENTS OF THE VECTOR!

//Start-Do something with "myvec"
		for _ in 0..3
		{
			myvec.push(0);
		}
		//End-Doing something with "myvec"

loop_counter += 1;
	}
}
  • Variant #1 is easy as I don't have to to think about this stuff, but I feel like that it will keep freeing&allocating "myvec" during each loop?

• Variant #2 is maybe better (faster and/or puts less pressure on the system?) as "myvec.clear()" might keep the allocated memory during multiple loops (and only allocate more if needed) therefore generating less system calls to de/allocate RAM?

I used to program in C/C++ and I'm struggling a bit to understand the automatisms of Rust :stuck_out_tongue:
I tried searching for ~1h in Google but I'm either stuck in a "Google bubble" or I'm using the wrong search terms or nobody asked this so far... (which I doubt) :stuck_out_tongue:

Maybe the Rust compiler is super-clever and even in case #1 the memory is not de&allocated during each loop? In my case the vector's size is unpredictable as its contents are loaded from a database... .

Thank you