Using references to object in closure stored within object itself

Hi! I'm a beginner and I'm trying to create a TUI in order to learn Rust.

I'm now implementing an event handler that stores closures that handle the terminal events.

use rustier::Terminal;
use rustier::KeyCode;

/// Entry point.
fn main() {
    let mut terminal = rustier::init();

register_events(&mut terminal);
}

/// Register the events.
fn register_events(terminal: &mut Terminal) {
    // Exit when pressing ESC.
    terminal.event_handler.register_key(KeyCode::Esc, Box::new(|_| {
        rustier::quit(terminal);
        std::process::exit(0);
    }));
}

If I try to compile this code I receive this error from the compiler:

error[E0621]: explicit lifetime required in the type of `terminal`
  --> src/main.rs:21:55
   |
19 |   fn register_events(terminal: &mut Terminal) {
   |                                ------------- help: add explicit lifetime `'static` to the type of `terminal`: `&'static mut rustier::Terminal`
20 |       // Exit when pressing ESC.
21 |       terminal.event_handler.register_key(KeyCode::Esc, Box::new(|_| {
   |  _______________________________________________________^
22 | |         rustier::quit(terminal);
23 | |         std::process::exit(0);
24 | |     }));
   | |______^ lifetime `'static` required

This is the program's entry point. It creates a new instance of rustier::Terminal ("Rustier" is the name of the TUI library) and then proceeds to register an event which will cause the program to exit when the ESC key is pressed.

Now, I'm aware that this code has several issues, but I'm trying to keep it as simple as possible so that hopefully someone can help me understand the issues with it and which changes should be applied in order to overcome them.