Using Rayon with trait objects

I'm pretty new to Rust, but the other day I was trying to paralellize my code with Rayon. Here's a simplified version of it (assumes rayon 1.5.0 is in deps):

use rayon::prelude::*;

trait MyTrait {
    fn foo(&self) -> i32;
}

struct MyStruct {
    number: i32,
}

impl MyTrait for MyStruct {
    fn foo(&self) -> i32 {
        self.number
    }
}

fn new_struct(number: i32) -> Box<dyn MyTrait> {
    Box::new(MyStruct { number }) as Box<dyn MyTrait>
}

fn main() {
    let vec: Vec<Box<dyn MyTrait>> = vec![new_struct(1), new_struct(2), new_struct(3)];
    let result = vec.into_par_iter().map(|item| item.foo()).sum();

assert_eq!(6, result);
}

It fails with the folowing message:

error[E0599]: no method named `par_iter` found for struct `Vec<Box<dyn MyTrait>>` in the current scope
   --> src/main.rs:23:22
    |
23  |       let result = vec.par_iter().map(|item| item.foo()).sum();
    |                        ^^^^^^^^ method not found in `Vec<Box<dyn MyTrait>>`
    |
    = note: the method `par_iter` exists but the following trait bounds were not satisfied:
            `&Vec<Box<dyn MyTrait>>: IntoParallelIterator`
            which is required by `Vec<Box<dyn MyTrait>>: rayon::iter::IntoParallelRefIterator`
            `&[Box<dyn MyTrait>]: IntoParallelIterator`
            which is required by `[Box<dyn MyTrait>]: rayon::iter::IntoParallelRefIterator`

Ultimately after searching Rayon's issues for "trait bounds were not satisfied" and some googling, I found a post on SO called Sending trait objects between threads in Rust.

The fix is to replace all instances of Box<dyn MyTrait> with Box<dyn MyTrait + Send>. After that the code seems to work just fine.