User-defined patterns, on things which are not enums

How can I place a (zero-overhead) pattern-match syntax on something that's not actually an enum? For instance, say I have a struct T(i32), and I want to pattern match for positive/negative values on it, like

match x {
  T::Pos => foo(),
  T::Neg => bar(),
}

being syntactic sugar for

match x {
  if x > 0 { foo() } else { bar() }
}

This is a relatively common feature in FP languages (in OCaml it can be done with a ppx, in Haskell with extension PatternSynonyms I believe).

I imagine this can be done with a macro, but is there language support for this? I'm a beginner in rust so I'm not quite comfortable writing macros yet :stuck_out_tongue: Regardless, what would be the lightest way (in terms of syntax) to accomplish it? Thanks!

PS: Perhaps here is a better example. Let struct NonzeroOption(u64). Then

match x { Some(x) => foo(x), None => bar() }

as syntactic sugar for

if x != 0 { foo(x.0) } else { bar() }

that is, an option type for a non-zero u64 without any memory overhead, which can be used in the same way as a regular option, including exhaustivity checks in pattern matching.

In general, since guards can’t be part of patterns in Rust, even with macros you can’t create too many interesting kinds of custom patterns. You’d have to stick to API such as the pre-PatternSynonyms API for Data.Sequence, i.e. provide view functions that return enums.

For the concrete case of ranges of integers, you can however work with range patterns.

struct T(i32);

macro_rules! negative {
    () => {
        T(i32::MIN..=-1)
    };
}
macro_rules! positive {
    () => {
        T(1..=i32::MAX)
    };
}
macro_rules! zero {
    () => {
        T(0)
    };
}

fn fun(x: T) {
    match x {
        negative!() => {}
        positive!() => {}
        zero!() => {}
    }
}

Not a perfect solution of course since those macros will only work as long a that field is visible. So you might prefer the “view function” approach