Unexpected result after drop `&a`

Coming from R, Python, and some Swift, I'm fairly new to Rust. I'm reading The Rust Programming Language now and I thought I more or less understood memory allocation, references, and borrowing as explained in chapter 4.

Now, when I wrote the code, as below, I would have expected to get an error message when trying to print a, after dropping &a, which is not the case.

How can this be? Maybe it's a dull question, but being new to Rust, I don't understand this.

Thanks in advance for helping out.

let mut a = vec![1, 2, 3, 5, 8, 13];

a.push(21);

let b = &a;

println!("{:?} and {:?}", a, b);

drop(&a);

println!("{:?}",a);
    println!("{:?}",b);

drop isn't particularly magic, it just takes whatever you give it by ownership and then doesn't give it back. Since you gave it a reference to a, it's exactly like calling any other function with &a: the function (drop) takes the reference for its duration, then you can keep using a after.

drop is defined simply as:

pub fn drop<T>(_x: T) {}

in the standard library.

In other terms, it did drop the &Vec<i32> you gave it. It's just that that doesn't do anything to your original Vec<i32>!

9 Likes

Thanks, @daboross this makes it clear to me.

1 Like

To clarify: what is the reason you expected this? Did you assume that a reference owns its referent? That is not the case — in Rust, references always point to/inside something that already exists/is already owned by someone else. You can't use a reference to extend the lifetime of a value (keep it alive longer than its scope would imply) nor to shrink it (you can't drop through a reference, as dropping implies ownership).

In Rust, it is not the case that every value is automatically heap-allocated/reference-counted/garbage-collected. References are simply pointers that point to wherever the object already is, without regard to how they were created or whether they are stack-allocated, heap-allocated, static, etc.