Understanding Tokio readiness

I'm having trouble understanding how Tokio's readiness-driven, I/O works. I'm studying the echo UDP sample.

I put some debug printlns in the example to print out the flow of events. This is a record of it running, annotated with the "conversation" I was having with it via "nc":

# Initial startup, waiting for me to send it a datagram
Listening on: 127.0.0.1:8080
poll()
  loop
    about to call recv_from()

# After sending it a datagram, via the `nc(1)` utility
poll()
  loop
    recv_from: Some((1, V4(127.0.0.1:65500)))
  loop
    Echoed 1/1 bytes to 127.0.0.1:65500

# A second message, again sent from `nc(1)`
poll()
  loop
    recv_from: Some((22, V4(127.0.0.1:65500)))
  loop
    Echoed 22/22 bytes to 127.0.0.1:65500

My confusion lies at the last part of each of these three stanzas. The code seems to stop near the end of the poll() method, specifically at the call to recv_from() while waiting for input.

On one hand, recv_from() appears to block, because the println that comes immediately after doesn't get invoked. But when data does arrive, the poll() method is invoked anew. So the poll() function actually appears to have completed. This seems to make more sense, because all the Tokio funcitons are supposed to be non-blocking. But, I really don't understand what happens when recv_from() is called and there is nothing to read.

Some other, more general, questions are: what entity invokes the poll() method and what informs that entity that poll() should be called? Seems like understanding that is another key to making use of futures.

Thanks,

Chuck

6 Likes

The key is the try_nb! macro around the call to recv_from. This behaves similarly to the standard library try! macro, but as well as returning on error cases it also returns if the value indicates that it will block.