Understanding the fundamental concepts behind the APIs?

So even though I came to Rust to improve my programming chops. I have been blown away by how much skill and understanding I have been picking up. This journey has been wild! And for that I am so grateful!

But a lot of programming tutorials focus on basically explaining an API and/or assuming you already know what's really happening underneath. Perhaps I struggle simply because I am entirely self taught.

I need the dummies guide to computer science, likely independent of any programming language.

For example, here are some areas that I feel quite lost in. Perhaps you can read them, and either reply directly to any, or suggest an appropriate learning material of any kind:

• What is serialization and deserialization?

• How do http servers actually 'make webpages' i.e. how is it possible to code a web-app entirely in Rust? (I.e. Rocket, Actix) - I guess this maybe means understanding HTTP, TCP/IP, sockets? etc?

• What is actually happening inside a virtual machine? If a virtual machine is just an intermediary step between input and output, isn't any program technically a 'virtual machine'?

• How does one even go about creating a programming language? Is creating a language just effectively complex string parsing/manipulation? Are there clearly laid out steps to every programming language? I've heard these terms thrown around lexer, tokenisation, parsing)

• How does concurrency work? And what concepts do I need to understand before learning things like Tokio, Async/Await, etc? I've heard of these terms, Atomics, Mutex?

Thank you for your time!

1 Like

Serialization is the act of taking some value in your program and turning it into a sequence of bytes you can write to e.g. a file or network connection. Deserialization is the opposite.

A web server includes many components, but ultimately it boils down to opening a TCP connection to the server, and writing something similar to this to the socket: