Understanding lifetimes in parallel context

Hi, I'm new to Rust so I'm sorry for the stupid question. I'm trying to do what this chapter is demonstrating how not to do.

Code:

// Start discovery routine
pub fn dsc(thread_pool: &ThreadPool, state: &mut State, neighbour_list:  &Vec<String>) {
    let node_list: Arc<Mutex<HashMap<String, Node>>> =
        Arc::new(Mutex::new(HashMap::new()));

for host in neighbour_list {
        let nodes = Arc::clone(&node_list);
        thread_pool.execute(move || handshake(&host, nodes));
    }

thread_pool.join();
    state.change_mode(Mode::WRK);
}

fn handshake(host: &String, node_list: Arc<Mutex<HashMap<String, Node>>>) {
    // do requests
}

Compile error:

error[E0621]: explicit lifetime required in the type of `neighbour_list`
  --> src/discovery.rs:16:21
   |
10 | pub fn dsc<'a>(thread_pool: &ThreadPool, state: &mut State, neighbour_list:  &Vec<String>) {
   |                                                                              ------------ help: add explicit lifetime `'static` to the type of `neighbour_list`: `&'static std::vec::Vec<std::string::String>`
16 |         thread_pool.execute(move || handshake(&host, nodes));
   |                     ^^^^^^^ lifetime `'static` required

I do understand it's not compiling because there are no lifetime guarantees for the contents of neighbour_list after the execute call. The calling thread could just exit at any time. However, I intend to wait for each job to finish with the thread_pool.join() call. I know about lifetimes, but I don't know how I can infer the them here. Or is this not the right approach at all?

Rust's borrow checker doesn't care what the code actually does. It only checks what code declares that it does. A call to threapool.join() doesn't change these declarations, so it doesn't do anything for borrow checking. Borrow checking operates on very general rules tied to scopes and declared lifetimes, without understanding any of the details.