Understanding Into<>

Hi, I'm new to Rust and so far I am loving it. For a little project I'm doing, I found this crate that looks really useful: event_parser. The to_event method that I want to use returns an icalendar::components::Event. For the life of me, I cannot figure out how to do anything useful with this, as icalendar::components module is marked as private. Anything I try to do to convert it or use it yields compiler errors I don't really understand like

the trait `From<icalendar::components::Event>` is not implemented for `icalendar::calendar::CalendarElement`

In this case, I'm less concerned with getting this to work, and more learning enough to interpret the docs or read the source code if necessary to unstick myself when I get stuck like this. Anyone have some pointers for me? Thanks in advance!

To start, take a look at the function type signature for to_event (docs):

pub fn to_event(text: &str) -> Event

This is a function (not a method, nor trait-method) that takes a reference to str. It will return an Event.

Based on the error, it looks like you tried to call a trait method that requires implementation of the From trait - not what we want.

The "red herring" was likely the to_event name that conjured up something like to_string. The latter is a trait method you are likely familiar with.

Update

Per the subsequent responses and seeing the updated docs I think most of what was said here is unhelpful.

I think you've primary ran into a documentation error, where their icalendar links attempt to link locally and not to the separate crate. On my first pass, when the link gave a 404, I went to look at the source instead and saw that icalendar was a separate crate. If I had kept reading the front page though, I would have seen some examples to help clue me in:

use icalendar::{Component, Event};