Understanding Generics

Hi,

I’m new to rust, and currently learning about generics. I have run into an issue that I don’t fully understand, and wanted to seek some clarification.

In rust (I’m using 1.4), you can write the following function, and it compiles as expected:

struct Foo; fn test() -> Foo { Foo }

If we make this function generic, it generates an E0425 error, complaining that T is an unresolved name inside the body of the function.

fn test<T>() -> T { T }

I’m pretty sure this comes down to a lack of understanding on my part - I guess what I’d like to understand is for a generic function, in what circumstances is a generic type not available to the body of the function?

Thanks,

James.

Well, first of all, that syntax only works for types that don’t contain any data.

The more general issue is that when you’re dealing with generic types in Rust, you can only do things the compiler knows can be done on absolutely any type in that position.

Let me use a different example:

fn add<T>(a: T, b: T) -> T { a + b }

This won’t compile. All the compiler knows about T is that it’s a type [1]. It doesn’t have any reason to believe that those Ts, whatever they are, can be added. If you want to add them, you need to tell the compiler:

fn add<T: Add<Output=T>>(a: T, b: T) -> T { a + b }

This has two effects: first, we can only instantiate the generic with types T that implement Add<Output=T>. So we can’t use add((), ()), because () doesn’t implement Add<Output=()>. The second thing is that within the function, we are now allowed to make use of addition because the compiler can prove that whatever type T happens to be, it must support it. This is also why these are sometimes called “constraints”: you’re constraining the set of types you can instantiate the generic with.