Undefined behaviour after unsafe enum usage

Hello everyone,

I started learning Rust last week and, in the process, I am writing a few small programs so that I get a better feel for the language. One of the test applications I wrote started crashing with Illegal instruction after changing the input. I managed to isolate the issue as being caused by a pattern match on a enum with an invalid value.

The enum value is the result of some unsafe code in one of the crates I am using.
I was unpleasantly surprised by this crash as it happens in my code, which doesn't have any unsafe blocks, long after calling the external API, with no other error information than Illegal instruction.
After looking for more information, I saw that generating invalid enum values results in undefined behaviour, so anything can happen at that point.

What I wonder is why isn't the compiler doing more to prevent this kind of crashes from happening silently and so late after the fact?
After each unsafe block that generates enum values, those values could be check for validity and then a panic can occur with a nice error informing about the cause. Or at least all match blocks without a default handler should panic when an invalid value is supplied.

Is there a way I can check an unsafe enum value is valid manually?

Thanks.

If you aren't using any unsafe, then there is a bug in the dependency you are using. Could you please show us the code?

Not exactly; at that point it is already too late because the invalid value (for that type) has already been created. In a way, the illegal instruction that was tripped was a “safety” check that did catch this for you, even if it seems violent. It doesn't prevent other ill effects to have occured due to the invalid value before that point, though.

That it's hard to use enums correctly in ffi is certainly something that known and there is work ongoing to improve that.