Trying to walk a parent pointer tree

I'm still learning lifetimes and I hope somebody could help me understand how to annotate this.

First, note: This is a simplified example of part of a port of a simple interpreter from Java, and the use of Rc<RefCell<Environment>> is based on the fact that the Environment class needs to be passed around (with mutability) a bit.

I'm very new to Rust, and still getting my feet wet.

use std::collections::HashMap;
    use std::{cell::RefCell, rc::Rc};

struct Environment {
        parent: Option<Rc<RefCell<Environment>>>,
        values: HashMap<String,i32>,
    }

impl Environment {
        fn put(&mut self, name: &str, value: i32) {
            self.values.insert(name.to_string(), value);
        }

fn get(&self, name: &str) -> Option<i32> {
            if let Some(v) = self.values.get(name) {
                Some(*v)
            } else {
                None
            }
        }

pub fn ancestor(&self, distance: usize) -> &Self {
            if distance == 0 {
                self
            } else {
                if let Some(parent) = &self.parent {
                    // this here's the trouble
                    return parent.borrow().ancestor(distance - 1);
                }
                todo!(); // handle errors later
            }
        }
    }

fn main() {
        let global = Rc::new(RefCell::new(Environment {
            parent: None,
            values: HashMap::new(),
        }));
        let local = Rc::new(RefCell::new(Environment {
            parent: Some(global.clone()),
            values: HashMap::new(),
        }));

global.borrow_mut().put("foo", 1);
        local.borrow_mut().put("bar", 2);
        assert_eq!(global.borrow().get("foo").unwrap(), 1);
        assert_eq!(local.borrow().get("bar").unwrap(), 2);

assert_eq!(local.borrow().ancestor(1).get("foo").unwrap(), 1);
    }