Trying to make a variable-sized tree

I’m new to Rust, and I’m trying to use it for a project which requires a tree structure where each node of the tree has a number of children to be determined at runtime. I keep running into errors having to do with lifetimes, arrays, and/or references.

Here’s what I’m starting with that won’t compile:

use std::cmp::PartialEq;
use std::cmp::Eq;

struct Tree {
    thisnode: usize,
    children: [Tree],
}

impl PartialEq for Tree {
    fn eq(&self, other: &Tree) -> bool {
        if self.thisnode != other.thisnode || self.children.len() != other.children.len() {
            return false;         
        }
        for i in 0..self.children.len() {
            if self.children[i] != other.children[i] {
                return false;
            }
        }
        true
    }
}

impl Eq for Tree {}

fn main() {
}

Since I don’t want any tree to be able to change after it’s initially created I thought it would be better to store the actual array of children instead of a reference to it, and I intended on implementing Copy instead of using move semantics, but I can’t even get that far since I can’t get equality testing to work (when I try to #[derive(PartialEq)] it tells me that it can’t compare [Tree]s using == or !=).
When I change children to &[Tree] it demands a lifetime for the reference and when I include that it tells me that it can’t derive lifetimes for self.children and other.children in the eq function.
The code I provided above fails to compile since it says that self.children and other.children don’t have len methods and can’t be indexed.

I would really rather not make one version of Tree for each possible number of children, and I think I’m probably missing something basic. Anybody feel like helping?

I think Vec may be your best bet. Its size is determined at runtime.