Trouble with Lifetimes not being Inferrable

Hello, I'm trying to write a basic lexer, but I'm running into trouble with the compiler not being able to infer lifetimes. Based on the error message, it sounds like I should be able to annotate the lifetimes explicitly for the compiler, but I haven't been able to to figure out a lifetime annotation that makes it happy. I'm new to rust, so maybe I'm just missing something obvious.

Error message:

error[E0495]: cannot infer an appropriate lifetime for lifetime parameter in function call due to conflicting requirements
  --> src\main.rs:69:47
   |
69 |                     return TokenType::NumLit(&tokenizer.input[start..tokenizer.position]);
   |                                               ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
   |
note: first, the lifetime cannot outlive the anonymous lifetime #1 defined on the body at 59:42...
  --> src\main.rs:59:42
   |
59 |                   '0'..='9' => tokens.push(|tokenizer: &mut Tokenizer| -> TokenType {
   |  __________________________________________^
60 | |                     let start = tokenizer.position;
61 | |
62 | |                     while tokenizer.position < tokenizer.input.len() {
...  |
69 | |                     return TokenType::NumLit(&tokenizer.input[start..tokenizer.position]);
70 | |                 }(self)),
   | |_________________^
note: ...so that reference does not outlive borrowed content
  --> src\main.rs:69:47
   |
69 |                     return TokenType::NumLit(&tokenizer.input[start..tokenizer.position]);
   |                                               ^^^^^^^^^^^^^^^
note: but, the lifetime must be valid for the anonymous lifetime defined on the method body at 50:21...
  --> src\main.rs:50:21
   |
50 |     pub fn tokenize(&mut self) -> Vec<TokenType> {
   |                     ^^^^^^^^^
note: ...so that the expression is assignable

Relevant code (with irrelevant match branches trimmed out for brevity)