Transfer C code to rust code

Hi.

As I'm new to rust I have some basic questions and hope that you have some patience with me.

I try to create a SPOA ( Stream Processing Offload Agent to handle HAProxy offloading possibilities like running some WASM workload.

The SPOP ( Stream Processing Offload Protocol ) is based on the peers protocol which uses Encoded Integer and Bitfield.

The Variable-length integer (varint) are handled via shift operators in C which is something is not similar available in rust, as far as I have read in different answers .

Don't get my wrong, I don't expect that you do any work for me but help me to understand how to transfer a C code paradigm to rust code paradigm. :smile:

Now let's make some concrete examples.

// from https://doc.rust-lang.org/book/ch03-02-data-types.html
// uint64_t => u64 in rust
// char ** => &String in rust
// char * => u8 in rust
// possible rust function declartion 
// fn encode_varint (i: u64, buf: &String, end: u8) -> i8 { .. }

static inline int encode_varint(uint64_t i, char **buf, char *end)
{
	unsigned char *p = (unsigned char *)*buf;
	int r;

if (p >= (unsigned char *)end)
		return -1;

if (i < 240) {
		*p++ = i;
		*buf = (char *)p;
		return 1;
	}

*p++ = (unsigned char)i | 240;
	i = (i - 240) >> 4; // <= How can this be done in rust?

while (i >= 128) {
			return -1;
		*p++ = (unsigned char)i | 128; // <= How can this be done in rust?
		i = (i - 128) >> 7;                      // <= How can this be done in rust?
	}

return -1;
	*p++ = (unsigned char)i;

r    = ((char *)p - *buf);
	*buf = (char *)p;
	return r;
}

Thank you for any help

1 Like

Shift operators exist in Rust and work almost identically (not counting precedence and the fact that in Rust, signed overflow is not UB).

// char ** => &String in rust
// char * => u8 in rust